The law of disability compensation requires the United States to pay a veteran only where a present disability resulted from injury or disease incurred or aggravated in line of duty during qualifying service, and the law requires the claimant to establish that chain through evidence while requiring the Department of Veterans Affairs to assist in developing the record and to resolve an approximate balance of evidence in favor of the claimant.

VA disability compensation law and the service connection elements - Insight Crunch

What the Law Requires and of Whom

Disability compensation is a monthly payment made by the United States to a veteran whose health was damaged by military service, and every part of the system follows from that single sentence. The payment is not a pension for long service, not a reward for hardship in the abstract, and not a general welfare benefit tied to financial need. The payment rests on a finding that a specific medical condition exists, that the condition is connected to service, and that the condition reduces earning capacity to a measurable degree. Chapter 11 of title 38 of the United States Code supplies the entitlement, a regulation issued under that chapter supplies the measuring instrument, and a small set of defined terms controls how both the entitlement and the instrument operate in an individual case. Almost every dispute in a compensation claim is a dispute about one layer mistaken for another. One further principle belongs at the front of the account, stated here in short form and developed in a later section of the article: a tie goes to the claimant. The benefit of the doubt rule, as that principle is called in the statute and the regulations, decides evenly balanced questions in favor of the person claiming the benefit, and the rule colors the reading of ambiguous evidence throughout the system described in the sections that follow.

The account in this article states general information about the law of veterans disability compensation as enacted and interpreted through the authorities cited in the text. The account does not state advice on any individual claim, does not predict the outcome of any pending application or appeal, and does not substitute for the record specific judgment that the Department of Veterans Affairs, the Board of Veterans Appeals, and the reviewing courts apply to particular evidence. Compensation law turns on medical findings, service records, and dates that differ from claimant to claimant, and a general description of the provisions, however careful, cannot answer the question presented by a single file. The neutrality of the description is deliberate: the sections that follow state what the law requires, of whom the law requires it, and by what standards the requirements are judged, without urging a result in any case.

The Statute at the Center

Title 38 of the United States Code collects the laws governing veterans benefits, and chapter 11 of that title bears the heading Compensation for Service Connected Disability or Death. The chapter opens with the basic entitlement provisions and then proceeds through rates of payment, special allowances for severe losses, and rules on effective dates and forfeiture, so that a citation to chapter 11 identifies a complete statutory program rather than a single isolated command. Congress enacted the modern codification of title 38 by the Act of September 2, 1958, Public Law 85 to 857, and the renumbering by Public Law 102 to 83 on August 6, 1991, gave the entitlement provisions the section numbers used throughout this article.

Two sections state the basic entitlement, and the difference between the sections is a difference of service context rather than a difference of substance. Section 1110 of title 38, headed Basic entitlement and placed in the subchapter on wartime disability compensation, provides for payment where a disability resulted from personal injury suffered or disease contracted in line of duty, or from aggravation of a preexisting injury or disease, in the active military, naval, or air service during a period of war, to a veteran discharged or released under conditions other than dishonorable. Section 1131 of title 38 states the parallel entitlement for service during other than a period of war, and the section sits in the subchapter on peacetime disability compensation. The operative language of the two sections is otherwise the same in the respects that decide cases, and adjudicators and courts treat sections 1110 to 1131 as a matched pair: one section or the other opens the door, depending on the character of the service, and the same elements must be proved behind either door.

Each element packed into the entitlement sentence does independent work. The disability must result from injury suffered or disease contracted in line of duty, a phrase that ties the payment to the service itself and excludes harm attributable to the veterans own willful misconduct or abuse of alcohol or drugs, an exclusion stated in the text of both sections. Aggravation of a preexisting condition stands on equal footing with fresh incurrence, so that service which worsens a condition that predated enlistment can ground compensation for the worsened degree. The discharge condition operates as a threshold of eligibility rather than as a measure of the disability. Sections 1110 and 1131 establish that compensation is payable, while other sections of the chapter establish how much a given degree of disability commands. The entitlement is mandatory in form once the elements are established. The statute says the United States will pay, and the Department of Veterans Affairs, the agency charged with administering title 38, has no discretion to withhold payment from a claimant who satisfies the statutory elements, just as the Department has no authority to pay a claimant who fails an element. A grant of service connection is therefore the central event in a claim, and the percentage evaluation that follows the grant is a second, distinct determination, governed by a different body of law that the next part of this section describes.

The Rating Schedule and Average Impairment

Entitlement answers whether compensation is payable. The rating schedule answers the separate question of how disabling a service connected condition is, expressed as a percentage, and the percentage in turn selects the monthly rate from the tables set by Congress in chapter 11. Section 1155 of title 38, headed Authority for schedule for rating disabilities, directs the Secretary of Veterans Affairs to adopt and apply a schedule of ratings of reductions in earning capacity from specific injuries or combinations of injuries. The same section fixes the theory of the schedule in a single clause: the ratings shall be based, as far as practicable, upon the average impairments of earning capacity resulting from such injuries in civil occupations. The same section also fixes the arithmetic of the schedule, requiring ten grades of disability and no more, namely 10 percent, 20 percent, 30 percent, 40 percent, 50 percent, 60 percent, 70 percent, 80 percent, 90 percent, and total disability at 100 percent, and the section obliges the Secretary to readjust the schedule from time to time in accordance with experience, while protecting a rating in effect on the date of a readjustment against reduction on the strength of the readjustment alone, absent a showing that the disability itself improved.

The schedule adopted under section 1155 appears as Part 4 of title 38 of the Code of Federal Regulations, titled Schedule for Rating Disabilities. Part 4 divides into a subpart of general policy provisions, sections 4.1 to 4.31, and a subpart of body system criteria, sections 4.40 to 4.150, followed by appendices that index the disabilities covered. The general policy provisions state the interpretive rules for the whole schedule: the essentials of evaluative rating, the resolution of reasonable doubt in the claimants favor, the evaluation of evidence, the choice of the higher of two evaluations where the evidence approximates two grades, and the avoidance of pyramiding, the practice of compensating the same manifestations twice under different labels. The body system criteria assign each condition a diagnostic code and a set of graduated criteria, so that a rating specialist matches the documented findings in a file against the criteria for the assigned code and selects the percentage the findings satisfy. Where a condition has no assigned code of its own, Part 4 permits rating by analogy to a closely related condition. Part 4 also assigns noncompensable evaluations, expressed as 0 percent, where service connection is established but the documented findings do not meet the criteria for a compensable grade.

The statutory phrase average impairments of earning capacity carries consequences that claimants and adjudicators confront in every rating. A schedule built on averages evaluates a condition by the impairment that condition produces in the generality of cases in civil occupations, rather than by the earnings history or the occupational success of the individual veteran whose file is open. Two veterans with the same diagnosis, the same findings, and the same diagnostic code receive the same percentage even if one veteran lost a high wage position because of the condition and the other veteran, working in a different field, lost no wages at all. The percentage is therefore not a finding about a paycheck. The percentage is a finding about capacity, expressed in the standardized vocabulary of the schedule, and individual consequences enter the rating only through doors the schedule itself opens, in provisions addressed to functional loss, to pain on use, and to total disability based on individual unemployability, subjects that later sections of the article take up in place.

The Words That Control the System

Three expressions recur on nearly every page of a compensation file, and each expression has a settled legal meaning narrower, or in places broader, than the meaning the same words carry in ordinary speech. The expressions are veteran, disability, and service connected. A claim can fail on the definition of any one of the three even where the underlying facts are undisputed, which is why the definitions belong at the opening of a provisions explainer rather than in a glossary at the end.

The statute defines veteran in section 101 of title 38. For the purposes of title 38, the term means a person who served in the active military, naval, or air service, and who was discharged or released from that service under conditions other than dishonorable. The definition has two limbs, service of the qualifying kind and a qualifying character of separation, and both limbs must be satisfied before the benefits provisions of the title attach to the person at all. Section 101 elaborates the first limb by defining active military, naval, or air service to include active duty, defined periods of active duty for training during which the individual was disabled or died from a disease or injury incurred or aggravated in line of duty, and defined periods of inactive duty training during which the individual was disabled or died from an injury incurred or aggravated in line of duty, or from an acute myocardial infarction, a cardiac arrest, or a cerebrovascular accident occurring during such training. The elaboration matters most for members of reserve components, whose service consists largely of training periods rather than continuous active duty: a reservist disabled by an injury during a drill period can stand inside the definition, while a reservist who falls ill during the same period, without one of the three medical events the definition names, can stand outside the definition for that period, because the inactive duty training limb speaks of injury rather than of disease in general. The second limb admits separations characterized as honorable and general under honorable conditions without argument, and reserves the status of other separations for determination by the Department under its own regulations before benefits can flow.

Disability, by contrast, has no general definition in section 101, and the absence is itself instructive. The entitlement sections use the word as the object of the payment, disability resulting from injury or disease, and the rating statute, section 1155, supplies the working measure by equating the compensable quality of a disability with reduction in earning capacity. The United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, in Allen v. Brown, decided in 1995 and reported at volume 7 of the Veterans Appeals reporter at page 439, held that the term disability as used in section 1110 refers to impairment of earning capacity, and that the definition reaches additional impairment caused by aggravation of a nonservice connected condition by a service connected condition, compensable to the degree of the aggravation. The holding in Allen fixed the conceptual center of the term: disability in this system names an economic and functional consequence, the impairment of the capacity to earn, rather than the diagnosis standing alone. Adjudication under sections 1110 and 1131 also requires that the disability be present in the period under consideration, because compensation pays for disability in being rather than for a condition that resolved without residue before the claim period.

Service connected, the third expression, is a term of art that compresses the whole causal inquiry of the entitlement sections into an adjective. A disability is service connected when the evidence establishes the chain that sections 1110 and 1131 describe: a present disability, an injury, disease, or event in service, or the aggravation in service of a condition that predated service, and a link, called a nexus in the practice, between the in service occurrence and the present disability. The adjective carries no requirement that service be the sole cause of the condition, and no requirement that the condition have been diagnosed during service. The term also extends beyond direct incurrence. A disability proximately caused by a service connected disability, or aggravated by a service connected disability beyond the natural progress of the secondary condition, can itself be service connected on a secondary basis, the proposition at the heart of Allen, and chapter 11 and the regulations in Part 3 of title 38 of the Code of Federal Regulations add presumptive routes under which defined chronic diseases manifested to a compensable degree within a stated period after discharge, and defined diseases associated with stated service exposures, are taken as service connected without individualized proof of the nexus. The presumptions, the secondary doctrine, and the direct route are three roads to the same adjective, and the adjective, once attached to a disability, is what moves the file from the entitlement sections to the rating schedule.

How Citations Are Organized in This Article

A provisions explainer lives by citation, and the citations in this article follow the organization of the sources themselves, so that a reader can move from any proposition in the text to the provision that carries the proposition. Citations to the statute take the form of a title number, the abbreviation U.S.C. for United States Code, and a section number, as in 38 U.S.C. 1110, and a reference to title 38 without a section number means the veterans benefits title as a whole. Citations to the regulations take the form of a title number, the abbreviation C.F.R. for Code of Federal Regulations, a part number, and a section number, as in 38 C.F.R. 4.71a for a provision of the rating schedule. Citations to the adjudication regulations appear most often as Part 3 of the same title of the Code of Federal Regulations, the part that governs procedure, service connection, and presumptions, while citations to the rating schedule appear as Part 4, and the two parts must not be confused, because Part 3 decides whether a disability is service connected and Part 4 decides the degree to which a service connected disability is disabling. For readers approaching a statutory text of this density for the first time, the companion guide to reading a federal statute sets out a method for working from a section heading through operative language to definitions and effective date provisions, and the method applies with full force to chapter 11, where a single sentence in section 1110 governs thousands of decided claims. Court decisions enter the citations in the conventional form of case name, volume, reporter, and page, with the year of decision in parentheses. No authority dated after May 15, 2019, the date of this article, is relied on in the sections that follow.

The Tie That Goes to the Claimant

The benefit of the doubt rule deserves a place in this opening section even though the full treatment of burdens and standards of proof belongs to a later section, because the rule expresses the attitude the system takes toward the evidence at every stage described in the article. The rule has a statutory home in section 5107 of title 38 and a regulatory restatement in the reasonable doubt provisions of Parts 3 and 4 of the regulations, and the short statement of the rule is the statement made at the head of this section: a tie goes to the claimant. Where the evidence on a material issue stands in the balance described by the statute, the decision goes to the person seeking the benefit rather than to the government resisting the claim, and that allocation distinguishes veterans adjudication from the ordinary civil model in which the party bearing the burden loses an evenly balanced case. The later section on evidence examines the conditions that trigger the rule and the findings an adjudicator must make before the rule applies. The present section records only the existence of the rule and the caution that the rule resolves doubt rather than creating evidence where the record holds none.

With the architecture in place, the plan of the remaining sections follows the path of a claim through the provisions. The sections on entitlement take up the elements of sections 1110 and 1131 in detail, including line of duty, willful misconduct, and the presumptions of soundness and service connection. The sections on the rating schedule work through Part 4 in its own order, from the general policy provisions to the body system criteria and the combined ratings table. The sections on procedure and evidence address claims filing, the duty to assist, examinations, effective dates, and appellate review. Each subject returns to the ground covered in this opening section, the statute in chapter 11, the schedule in Part 4, and the three controlling expressions, veteran, disability, and service connected.

The Three Elements of Service Connection

Service connection rests on a chain of proof with three links, and a claim fails when any one link is missing. The governing statutes, 38 U.S.C. sections 1110 and 1131, authorize compensation for disability resulting from personal injury suffered or disease contracted in line of duty, or for aggravation of a preexisting injury or disease, in active military, naval, or air service. The regulation at 38 C.F.R. section 3.303(a) directs that determinations rest on review of the entire evidence of record under a broad and liberal interpretation consistent with the facts in each individual case. From those sources, adjudicators derived a three part test approved in Shedden v. Principi, 381 F.3d 1163 (Federal Circuit, 2004): evidence of a present disability, evidence of incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury in service, and evidence of a causal relationship, called a nexus, between the present disability and the in-service disease or injury.

Each element answers a different question, and evidence answering one question does not answer the others. A diagnosis recorded in 2016 establishes that a condition existed in 2016, not when the condition began or what caused the condition. A service treatment record from 1974 establishes that something happened during service, not that a disability persisted decades later. The nexus element occupies the space between those records.

The First Element and the Meaning of a Current Disability

The first element asks whether the claimant has a disability in the sense the compensation statutes use that term. The statutes supply no freestanding definition, and the Federal Circuit explained in Saunders v. Wilkie, 886 F.3d 1356 (Federal Circuit, 2018), that disability in section 1110 refers to the functional impairment of earning capacity, rather than to the underlying cause of that impairment. A disability, for compensation purposes, is therefore a present condition that impairs the body or mind in a way the rating schedule can later measure. The claim stage question is existence, not degree. Whether an impairment warrants a rating of 10 percent or 50 percent belongs to a later stage that begins only after service connection is established.

In the ordinary case, existence is proved through a medical diagnosis. Treatment records, examination reports, diagnostic imaging, and specialist evaluations each can supply the diagnosis, and a diagnosis by a clinician who examined the claimant carries weight because diagnosis is a medical judgment about the identity of a condition. Degenerative joint disease of the knee, posttraumatic stress disorder, or hearing loss measured through audiometric testing each presents a defined entity that an adjudicator can track backward toward service. Without such an object, the remaining elements have nothing definite to attach to, because an in-service event cannot cause, and medical evidence cannot link, a condition identified in no form at all.

Timing is part of this element. The disability must exist at or near the time the claim is filed, or at some point while the claim is pending. In McClain v. Nicholson, 21 Vet. App. 319 (Veterans Court, 2007), the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims held that the requirement is satisfied when a claimant has a disability at filing or during the pendency of the claim, even though the disability resolves before adjudication is complete. The converse follows. A condition that existed during service and resolved completely, with no manifestation at filing and none during the pendency of the claim, does not satisfy the element, however well documented the condition was during service. Compensation pays for present impairment traceable to service, not for the historical fact that an injury once occurred.

Can pain alone count as a current disability?

Yes, under Saunders v. Wilkie, decided by the Federal Circuit in 2018, pain alone could satisfy the current disability element when the pain produced functional impairment. The holding did not dispense with proof of impairment, an in-service event, or a nexus linking the pain to service.

The fuller record in Saunders shows why the answer was framed in functional terms. Melba Saunders served in the Army from 1987 to 1994 and received treatment during service for knee pain, with a diagnosis of patellofemoral pain syndrome recorded during that period. An examination in 2011 recorded bilateral knee pain while running, squatting, bending, and climbing, along with functional limitations on walking, yet the examiner found no anatomic abnormality and stated that no pathology supported a diagnosis. The Board of Veterans Appeals and the Veterans Court rejected the claim on the ground that pain without an identified disease or injury could not constitute a disability under section 1110, following a 1999 precedent of the Veterans Court. The Federal Circuit reversed that legal determination in 2018, reasoning that because disability refers to functional impairment of earning capacity, pain that causes functional impairment can itself be a disability, regardless of whether a clinician can assign a diagnostic label to the source of the pain.

Saunders changed the boundary of the first element without dissolving the element. Pain producing no functional impairment does not satisfy the test, because the statutory concept remains impairment. Pain limiting standing, walking, lifting, or concentration presents a different record, and the functional effect is the legally operative fact. The decision also left the other elements untouched, because a claimant relying on Saunders must produce evidence of an in-service event and evidence linking the pain to that event.

The contrast between symptoms and diagnoses runs through the rest of the element. A symptom is a manifestation reported by a patient or observed on examination, such as pain, instability, fatigue, ringing in the ears, or restricted motion. A diagnosis is a clinical conclusion identifying a disease or condition that accounts for manifestations. Before Saunders, adjudicators often treated the absence of a diagnosis as fatal even when symptoms were well documented, and Saunders rejected that treatment for pain accompanied by functional impairment. Outside the setting of pain, a bare symptom with no diagnosis and no demonstrated functional impairment tied to an identifiable condition remained difficult to carry through the test, because a nexus opinion ordinarily must identify the condition being linked to service.

The Second Element and the Event During Service

The second element asks what happened during service. The governing concept is incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury, framed around events and onsets rather than around final diagnoses. A disease may begin during service without receiving a correct name during service, and an injury may occur during service even though the full extent of the injury becomes apparent only after separation. The regulation at 38 C.F.R. section 3.303(d) reflects that latitude by permitting service connection for a disease diagnosed after discharge when all the evidence establishes that the disease was incurred in service.

Service treatment records form the core of the proof in most claims. Entrance examinations establish the condition of the body at the start of service and supply the baseline against which incurrence and aggravation are measured. Treatment notes, hospital records, surgical reports, physical profiles, and limited duty assignments document complaints, findings, and restrictions as events unfolded, and separation examinations record the state of health at the end of service. A single notation can carry considerable weight when the notation records a complaint, a finding, and a clinical impression at a fixed date, because contemporaneous records were made without knowledge of a future claim.

Personnel records supply a second channel of proof, particularly where the event was traumatic, environmental, or occupational rather than medical in its first appearance. Duty assignments, military occupational specialty records, deployment orders, unit records, and performance evaluations can place a claimant at a location, in a role, or in an incident that service treatment records never mention. Exposure to hazards often appears in personnel documentation long before any disease appears in medical documentation, because a service member exposed to noise, chemicals, or extreme physical demands had no reason to visit a clinic on the day of exposure.

Aggravation presents a distinct version of the element. A condition that existed before service, and that was noted at entrance, cannot be incurred in service, because the condition predates service. Such a condition can be aggravated by service, and the inquiry turns on whether the condition worsened during service beyond the natural progress of the disease or injury. Increased symptoms, more frequent treatment, new limitations, or a change in profile status during service can support aggravation, while an unchanging course tends to defeat the theory.

Gaps in the service record complicate the element without automatically defeating a claim. Silence in a treatment file does not prove that no event occurred, particularly for events that a service member had reason not to report. The element nevertheless requires evidence, and an account of an in-service event must find some support in the record as a whole, whether through treatment entries, personnel documentation, or competent lay testimony about events a layperson can observe.

The third element asks whether the current disability and the in-service disease, injury, or event are connected, and the connection is called the nexus. A condition can be genuine, and an event can be documented, and the two can be unrelated, because bodies develop diseases for many reasons and the passage of decades introduces intervening causes that compete with service as an explanation. The nexus requires evidence making the service explanation more than a possibility constructed from sequence alone. The fact that a condition appeared after service does not, without more, establish that service produced the condition.

Medical nexus opinions supply the most common form of nexus proof. A clinician reviews the service treatment records, the post service treatment history, and the findings on examination, and then states an opinion on whether the current condition is related to service. Probative value depends heavily on disclosed reasoning. An opinion identifying the records reviewed, describing the onset and course of symptoms, considering competing causes, and explaining the basis for the conclusion gives an adjudicator material to weigh, while an opinion stating a conclusion without explanation, resting on an inaccurate history, or stopping at speculation carries far less weight. Competing opinions from a Department of Veterans Affairs examiner and from a private clinician are weighed on the quality of reasoning rather than on the identity of the author. The standard phrasing of such opinions, whether a condition is at least as likely as not related to service, places the threshold at an even balance of probabilities rather than at certainty.

Continuity of symptomatology offers a second route to the nexus for chronic diseases, codified at 38 C.F.R. section 3.303(b). The regulation provides that when a chronic disease is shown as such in service, or within the presumptive period supplied by 38 C.F.R. section 3.307, subsequent manifestations of the same chronic disease at any later date, however remote, are service connected unless clearly attributable to intercurrent causes. A single manifestation in service does not establish chronicity, because a showing of chronic disease in service requires a combination of manifestations sufficient to identify the disease entity and sufficient observation to establish chronicity at the time, as distinguished from isolated findings or from a diagnosis that merely includes the word chronic. Where the condition noted during service is not shown to be chronic, or where the diagnosis of chronicity may be legitimately questioned, continuity of symptomatology is required, and a showing of continuity after discharge is required to support the claim. Under this route, the symptoms themselves perform the linking work that a medical opinion performs in other claims.

The Federal Circuit narrowed this route in Walker v. Shinseki, 708 F.3d 1331 (Federal Circuit, 2013), holding that section 3.303(b) applies to the chronic diseases listed in 38 C.F.R. section 3.309(a). For conditions outside that list, continuity evidence remained relevant as part of the overall record, but a medical opinion or other competent evidence had to supply the link. Continuity also differs from a pattern of treatment, because the inquiry concerns the persistence of symptoms, proved by whatever evidence exists, rather than the persistence of clinic visits.

Lay evidence occupies a defined place in nexus proof, because veterans and fellow service members often witnessed events and symptoms that medical records capture incompletely. Lay testimony can describe what a witness saw, heard, or experienced: the occurrence of an injury, the onset of observable symptoms, and the continuation of symptoms over time. Two questions govern such testimony. Competence asks whether the witness is capable of supplying the kind of evidence offered, and credibility asks whether the particular account should be believed.

In Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331 (Federal Circuit, 2006), the Federal Circuit rejected a Board practice of discounting lay recollections as lacking credibility solely because contemporaneous medical records did not confirm the recollections. The veteran in Buchanan sought service connection for a psychiatric disorder, supported by lay statements describing the onset of symptoms and by a private medical opinion, while examiners had relied on the absence of service records documenting the disorder. The court held that the Board had accepted a legally erroneous view of lay evidence, because competent lay evidence can support a claim even without contemporaneous medical documentation, and the absence of such documentation cannot, by itself, render lay evidence not credible. Credibility determinations remain open to adjudicators, who may consider inconsistency, bias, and facial plausibility, but a credibility finding must rest on grounds of that kind rather than on the mere silence of the medical file.

In Jandreau v. Nicholson, 492 F.3d 1372 (Federal Circuit, 2007), the Federal Circuit addressed competence and rejected a categorical rule that medical evidence is required whenever a claim involves a medical diagnosis. Lay evidence can be competent to establish a diagnosis in certain circumstances, including when a layperson is competent to identify the condition, when a layperson reports a contemporaneous medical diagnosis, or when lay testimony describes symptoms at the time that support a later diagnosis by a medical professional. The boundary lies in the nature of the condition. Some conditions are simple and capable of identification through observation, while other conditions involve internal disease processes beyond common experience and require medical training to identify or to attribute to a cause.

Read together, Buchanan and Jandreau assign lay evidence a substantial but bounded role. Lay witnesses can establish the factual premises on which a nexus rests, including the in-service event, the symptoms that followed, and the continuity of those symptoms after separation, and credible lay accounts of continuous symptoms can themselves carry the continuity route under section 3.303(b). For medical causation involving complex conditions, a medical opinion ordinarily must complete the chain, though the opinion may rest on a history supplied through lay testimony, provided the adjudicator finds that testimony credible.

The concentration of denials on the third element follows from the relative difficulty of the three inquiries. The first element often resolves through a single examination or a short run of treatment records, because a claimant who files a claim usually has a condition a clinician can identify or, after Saunders, pain with documented functional effects. The second element often resolves through service records made decades earlier, and a relevant entry in those records is fixed and difficult to dispute. The third element asks a question no single record was created to answer. Causation must be reconstructed across years that may include post service employment, aging, intervening injuries, unrelated diseases, and long periods without treatment. Examiners disagree and opinions conflict, so a negative nexus opinion from an examiner who reviewed the file frequently decides the outcome against a claim supported by strong evidence on the first two elements.

Disability in Compensation Law and Disability in Civil Rights Law

The word disability performs different work in veterans compensation law than in civil rights law, and the difference explains why a person can hold a compensable service connected disability rating and fall outside the civil rights definition, or meet the civil rights definition and have no compensable claim at all. In compensation law, disability is a measure of impaired earning capacity caused by service, serving a payment system that grades impairment by percentage and pays according to the grade. The inquiry is backward looking and causal, tied to a specific period of service, and no employer, no act of discrimination, and no denial of access enters the analysis.

Civil rights law uses the term for a different purpose. The Americans with Disabilities Act, enacted in 1990, and section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 define disability around impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities, together with a record of such an impairment and being regarded as having such an impairment, and those definitions serve bodies of law concerned with discrimination, access, and reasonable accommodation. Readers comparing the two frameworks can consult the contrasting definition of disability in the Americans with Disabilities Act and section 504 for the civil rights side of the comparison. The civil rights inquiry is oriented toward treatment by covered entities and toward the removal of barriers, and causation in the compensation sense plays no role, because an impairment qualifies regardless of origin. The Amendments Act of 2008 directed a broad construction of the civil rights definition, a direction with no counterpart in compensation adjudication.

Each system sorts people according to the problem the system was built to solve. Compensation law asks whether service impaired a particular veteran and pays in proportion to the impairment. Civil rights law asks whether an impairment places a person within a protected class and then forbids specified forms of unequal treatment, indifferent to whether the impairment came from military service, from an accident in civilian life, or from birth. A shared word joins the two systems in ordinary speech, and the operative definitions pull the systems apart in adjudication.

Two Provisions That Set This System Apart

Most federal benefit programs place the burden of proof on the person seeking payment and leave that person to assemble the proof alone. A claimant files, gathers documents, presents evidence, and loses if the evidence falls short of the governing standard. Disability compensation for veterans departs from that model in two connected respects, and the departure is statutory rather than discretionary. The first provision governs how a decision maker resolves doubt after the record is complete. The second governs how the record is built, and it assigns much of the building work to the government itself.

The benefit of the doubt rule answers the question of proof. The duty to assist answers the question of development. Neither provision guarantees an award, and neither relieves a claimant of every responsibility. A claimant had to file a claim, identify records, report for examinations, and supply information that only the claimant possessed. What the provisions changed was the consequence of an incomplete or evenly balanced record. Under the benefit of the doubt rule, an evenly balanced record on a material issue resolved in favor of the claimant. Under the duty to assist, a record that remained incomplete because the Department of Veterans Affairs had failed to make the efforts the statute required was not a proper basis for decision.

The Benefit of the Doubt and the Meaning of an Approximate Balance

Section 5107 of title 38, United States Code, carries the benefit of the doubt rule in subsection (b). The operative language provides that “The Secretary shall consider all information and lay and medical evidence of record in a case before the Secretary with respect to benefits under laws administered by the Secretary. When there is an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence regarding any issue material to the determination of a matter, the Secretary shall give the benefit of the doubt to the claimant.” Every element of that language does work. The rule operates at the end of fact finding and not as a substitute for evidence. The balance need not be exactly equal in weight. And the rule applies issue by issue, so a single claim could present several questions, with the rule resolving one for the claimant while another resolved against the claimant on a record that was not close.

The material issue in a service connection claim might be the existence of a current disability, the occurrence of an injury or disease during service, or the connection between the two. In a claim for an increased rating, the material issue might be the severity of symptoms during a defined period. The rule attached to each element separately, and the decision maker had to identify the evidence for and against each element before the rule could operate. A medical opinion linking a condition to service might stand in approximate balance with a contrary opinion, while the evidence of an in service event preponderated against the claimant. In that configuration the claim failed despite the favorable resolution of one element.

The phrase approximate balance also marked the outer boundary of the rule. Evidence could favor the claimant outright, in which case the rule had no role because the claimant prevailed on the weight of the evidence itself. The rule governed the close case, in which a decision maker who had weighed credibility, competence, and probative value found the scales level or nearly level, and a statutory command bound every rating specialist and the Board of Veterans’ Appeals in every such case.

What Happens When the Evidence Is Evenly Balanced?

The claimant prevails on that issue. Section 5107(b) directs the Secretary to give the benefit of the doubt to the claimant when positive and negative evidence stands in approximate balance on a material issue, so an evenly balanced record cannot support a denial on that issue alone.

The fuller statement of the principle, in the form in which the article states the claim throughout, is that a tie goes to the claimant. The formulation is short because the rule is short in operation, even though the reasoning that leads to a tie can occupy many pages of a Board decision. A tie in this setting does not mean a numerical count of documents. Evidence in veterans cases is weighed rather than counted. One reasoned medical opinion from an examiner who reviewed the full record could outweigh several unsupported assertions, and one contemporaneous service treatment record could outweigh a recollection offered decades after the event. The tie that triggered section 5107(b) was a tie in probative weight after that weighing.

The contrast with the preponderance standard used elsewhere in American law gives the rule its distinct character. In ordinary civil litigation, a party bearing the burden of proof prevails only if the evidence in favor of that party’s position is more persuasive than the evidence against it. An evenly balanced record in a civil case means the party with the burden loses, because that party has failed to tip the scales. Many administrative schemes follow the same logic, treating equipoise as a failure of proof. Section 5107(b) reversed that default for veterans. Equipoise became a ground for granting rather than a ground for denying, a legislative judgment about who should bear the risk of an uncertain record in cases arising from military service, where records were created by the government and time between service and claim was often measured in decades.

Gilbert and the Court’s Reading of Equipoise

The United States Court of Veterans Appeals, the court created in 1988 and later renamed the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, gave the rule its canonical interpretation in Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 49 (1990). Gilbert addressed a claim for service connection for a back condition, and the Board had denied the claim without adequately explaining how the benefit of the doubt rule figured in the analysis. The court held that a claimant need only demonstrate an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence in order to prevail, and that entitlement need not be established beyond a reasonable doubt, by clear and convincing evidence, or by a fair preponderance of the evidence. The court stated the consequence in terms that later decisions repeated for decades: the preponderance of the evidence must be against the claim for benefits to be denied.

That sentence from Gilbert restructured the analysis in every contested case. Denial required an affirmative finding that the evidence against the claim outweighed the evidence for the claim. A decision maker could not deny a claim merely by finding the favorable evidence unpersuasive in isolation, or by pointing to gaps that left the record in balance. If competent and credible evidence stood on both sides in roughly equal measure, the statute and Gilbert together required a grant on that issue. The court also required the Board to provide reasons or bases for its findings, including its treatment of the benefit of the doubt.

Gilbert grounded the rule in the character of the system itself. The court described the standard as a unique standard of proof, kept in place by the high regard in which the nation held those who had served in the armed forces, and as a legislative decision that society would bear the risk of error when the evidence stood in approximate balance. That rationale explains why the rule has no close parallel in programs serving the general public. The Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000 rewrote section 5107 and removed the well grounded claim requirement in subsection (a), while leaving the benefit of the doubt command of subsection (b) intact in substance.

The rule nevertheless has limits that Gilbert and the statute together make plain. The rule does not create evidence where none exists. A record containing no competent evidence on a material issue is not in approximate balance, because balance requires positive evidence to weigh against negative evidence. The rule does not require a decision maker to accept an incredible account or an incompetent opinion as the equal of credible and competent proof, since credibility and competence determinations come before the weighing. And the rule does not prevent a denial when the preponderance of the evidence is against the claim. The generosity of the system lay in the treatment of the genuinely close case, not in an instruction to grant every claim.

The Duty to Assist and the Statute That Rebuilt It

The second provision addresses the stage before decision. The duty to assist obliges the Secretary of Veterans Affairs to help a claimant develop the evidence necessary to substantiate a claim, and the modern form of that duty comes from the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000, Public Law 106-475, enacted on November 9, 2000. The act eliminated the well grounded claim requirement, restated and expanded the notice obligation in section 5103, codified the assistance obligation in a new section 5103A, and addressed claims denied under the prior regime. President William J. Clinton signed the measure on November 9, 2000, and the signing statement described the act as a reaffirmation and clarification of the duty to assist claimants in developing evidence pertinent to claims.

The judicial decision that the 2000 act overrode was Morton v. West, 12 Vet. App. 477 (1999). Morton had held that the Department could not assist in the development of a claim that was not well grounded. Under the statute as Morton read it, the duty to assist in the former section 5107(a) attached only after a claimant had first submitted evidence sufficient to justify a belief by a fair and impartial individual that the claim was well grounded, meaning plausible and supported, on a medical causation question, by competent medical evidence. A claimant who lacked a medical opinion at the filing stage could therefore be denied any help in obtaining one, even though the missing opinion was precisely the evidence the claim needed.

Congress answered Morton directly. The 2000 act struck the well grounded language, provided that the Secretary’s duty applied without that threshold, and included a special readjudication provision for claims denied or dismissed as not well grounded during the period that began on July 14, 1999, the date associated with the Morton decision, and ended on the date of enactment. Upon a timely request by the claimant or on the Secretary’s own motion, such a claim was to be readjudicated as if the denial or dismissal had not been made. The duty attached to a complete or substantially complete application, and the measure of the duty became the reasonable efforts described in section 5103A.

Notice Before Development

The first component of the assistance scheme is notice, codified at 38 U.S.C. 5103. Upon receipt of a complete or substantially complete application for benefits, the Secretary had to notify the claimant and the claimant’s representative, if any, of any information and any medical or lay evidence not previously provided that was necessary to substantiate the claim. As part of that notice, the Secretary had to indicate which portion of the information and evidence the claimant was to provide and which portion the Secretary would attempt to obtain on behalf of the claimant in accordance with section 5103A and other applicable provisions of law. The notice duty thus divided the evidentiary labor in writing, at the start of the case, so that a claimant could see what the Department expected from the claimant and what the Department had undertaken to do itself.

The content of adequate notice became a subject of extensive litigation in the years after 2000, because the statute tied notice to the elements of the particular claim. A claim for service connection required evidence of a current disability, evidence of an event, injury, or disease during service, and evidence of a connection between the two, and notice that failed to address the missing element left the claimant unable to respond to the actual deficiency. Notice given after a decision on an undeveloped record did not serve the purpose of guiding development while development remained possible. The regulation at 38 C.F.R. 3.159 implemented the provisions together, and the Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims remanded many cases in the first decade after enactment for notice that was absent, late, or too general.

Records and Examinations

Section 5103A states the assistance duty in general terms and then specifies its parts. Subsection (a) provides that the Secretary shall make reasonable efforts to assist a claimant in obtaining evidence necessary to substantiate the claim, and that the Secretary is not required to provide assistance if no reasonable possibility exists that such assistance would aid in substantiating the claim. That limiting clause set an outer bound without restoring the Morton threshold. The question was not whether the claimant had already made the claim plausible, but whether a reasonable effort by the Department could produce evidence capable of substantiating the claim.

Subsection (c) addresses records in government hands. In a claim for disability compensation, the Secretary had to make efforts to obtain the claimant’s service medical records, other relevant records pertaining to active military, naval, or air service held by a governmental entity, records of relevant treatment at facilities of the Department, and records of relevant treatment from any other federal facility or federal department or agency, where the claimant furnished information sufficient to locate the records. Federal records mattered disproportionately because the decisive evidence of an in service event often existed only in files the government created and kept. Section 5103A placed the burden of chasing those files on the Department, and the duty continued until the records were obtained or the Department concluded that the records did not exist or that further efforts would be futile, with notice to the claimant of that conclusion.

Subsection (b) addresses private records, and the structure differs because private custodians stood outside government control. As part of the assistance provided under the section, the Secretary had to make reasonable efforts to obtain relevant private records that the claimant adequately identified to the Secretary. Adequate identification was the claimant’s contribution: the name and address of a treating physician or hospital, the approximate dates of treatment, and authorization for release where a custodian required it. The Department’s contribution was the effort itself, which ordinarily meant more than a single unanswered request, together with notice to the claimant when the efforts failed, identifying the records that could not be obtained and explaining the efforts made, so that the claimant could attempt to obtain the records personally before decision.

Subsection (d) addresses medical examinations and medical opinions, the component of the duty that most often determined whether a service connection claim could be decided at all. In a disability compensation claim, the Secretary had to provide a medical examination or obtain a medical opinion when the examination or opinion was necessary to make a decision on the claim. Necessity turned on a combination of presence and absence in the record: competent evidence of a current disability or of persistent or recurrent symptoms, an established event, injury, or disease during service or another service connected disability, an indication that the claimed disability or symptoms might be associated with that established event or disability, and the absence of sufficient competent medical evidence to decide the claim. The duty produced examinations at which an examiner offered an opinion on whether a connection to service was at least as likely as not, the formulation that translated the equipoise standard of section 5107(b) into the language of medical opinion.

The Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims construed the association element in McLendon v. Nicholson, 20 Vet. App. 79 (2006). McLendon held that the requirement that the evidence indicate that a claimed disability or symptoms may be associated with an established in service event is a low threshold. An indication that an association may exist demands far less than proof that an association does exist, and medical evidence that suggests a nexus but is too equivocal or lacking in specificity to support a decision on the merits can satisfy the threshold and trigger the duty to obtain an examination or opinion. Evidence strong enough to grant a claim was not required to obtain an examination, because the examination existed precisely for cases in which the record suggested a connection without establishing one.

McLendon also illustrates how the two provisions operate as a pair. The examination obtained under section 5103A frequently produced the opinion that placed a claim in equipoise, and equipoise then invoked section 5107(b). A private physician might attribute a condition to service in cautious terms, an examiner might attribute the same condition to age or to a post service injury in equally cautious terms, and the resulting balance resolved for the claimant. The claims system that resulted from the combination is the system described in the companion account of how a claim is actually administered, where notice letters, records requests, and examinations appear as stages of a single process rather than as favors granted at administrative discretion.

Neither provision removed the ordinary disciplines of adjudication. Claims failed after full development when the preponderance of the evidence was against them, and examinations produced unfavorable opinions that outweighed favorable assertions. What the two provisions removed was a particular kind of failure: the failure of a meritorious or genuinely contestable claim for reasons of procedure alone. The benefit of the doubt rule removed equipoise as a reason for denial. The duty to assist, as rebuilt by Public Law 106-475, removed the absence of government help as a reason for an incomplete record. Between those two removals lies the statutory character of VA disability compensation law, a system in which the government that created the service records also bore a legal obligation to build the claimant’s file and to lose every tie that the built file produced.

The Routes to Service Connection Beyond Direct Proof

Direct proof remained the model against which every other route was measured, and each alternative route was defined by the element of direct proof that the alternative displaced. The alternative routes did not create compensation for impairment unconnected to federal service or to a federal substitute for service. Each route rearranged the proof, supplied a missing link by operation of law, shifted a burden to the Department of Veterans Affairs, or treated a later federal act as the equivalent of service. A presumption that supplied an in service element left the requirement of a current disability intact, and a secondary theory that supplied a causal path through an established disability left the requirement of medical linkage intact.

Direct Service Connection as the Baseline Route

Direct service connection required three elements, and the absence of any one element defeated the claim on that theory. The claimant had to show a current disability, meaning a medical condition that produced impairment at the time the claim was decided or during the period covered by the claim. The claimant also had to show an in service event, injury, disease, or symptom, documented in service records or established through other competent evidence of service. The claimant then had to show a link, often called a nexus, between the current disability and the in service occurrence. Competent medical evidence commonly supplied that link when the relationship lay beyond lay observation, although lay testimony could establish continuity of observable symptoms in appropriate circumstances. The direct route relieved the claimant of nothing. Service records that recorded a knee injury established the in service element for a later knee claim, but those records alone did not establish that arthritis diagnosed decades after discharge arose from the recorded injury. A medical opinion that connected the two addressed the gap. A persuasive opinion about causation could not substitute for a current diagnosis, and a current diagnosis could not substitute for an in service occurrence.

The Chronic Disease Presumption

Congress addressed a recurrent proof problem in the chronic disease presumption. Certain diseases develop gradually and receive a firm diagnosis only after discharge, even though the disease process began during service. Section 1112(a) of title 38, United States Code, answered that problem for a defined class of diseases and a defined period. For a veteran who served for ninety days or more during a period of war, a chronic disease that became manifest to a degree of ten percent or more within one year from the date of separation was considered to have been incurred in or aggravated by service, notwithstanding that no record of the disease existed during service. The regulations at 38 C.F.R. 3.307 and 38 C.F.R. 3.309(a) carried the same structure into peacetime service on or after January 1, 1947, and section 3.309(a) supplied the closed list of diseases to which the presumption applied. The list included, among other conditions, arthritis, cirrhosis of the liver, diabetes mellitus, Hodgkin disease, leukemia, multiple sclerosis, myocarditis, nephritis, other organic diseases of the nervous system, psychoses, sarcoidosis, and cardiovascular renal disease including hypertension. No condition outside the list counted as chronic for purposes of that presumption, a limitation stated in section 3.307. Section 1112(a) also allowed three years for active tuberculous disease, three years for Hansen disease, and seven years for multiple sclerosis, each requiring manifestation to a degree of ten percent or more within the longer period. A claimant who invoked the presumption had to identify a listed disease, establish qualifying service, and prove manifestation to a compensable degree within the applicable period through medical evidence describing the level of disease within that period.

Does a Presumption Remove the Need to Prove a Current Disability?

No. A presumption under section 1112 supplied the in service incurrence element and the causal link for a listed disease that met the statutory timing and degree requirements, but the claimant retained the burden of establishing a current disability arising from that disease at the time of the claim.

Fuller treatment confirmed the division. The presumption operated as a rule about origin. Once the predicates were established, the law treated the listed disease as incurred in or aggravated by service even without service records showing the disease, and the claimant had no obligation to produce a medical opinion connecting the disease to service. The presumption did not manufacture a diagnosis, and a disease that had resolved without residual impairment did not satisfy the current disability element. The rebuttal structure also remained, because under 38 U.S.C. 1113 and 38 C.F.R. 3.307 affirmative evidence could show that the disease resulted from an intercurrent cause. The recurring structure of a closed list, a defined service predicate, a manifestation requirement, and a rebuttal opportunity also explains how later legislation extended presumptive categories while leaving the underlying division of proof recognizable across categories.

Former Prisoners of War

Section 1112(b) built a separate presumption on the hardships of captivity, including malnutrition, exposure, and untreated injury, and on the difficulty of reconstructing medical events from captivity. In the case of a veteran who was a former prisoner of war, a disease specified in 38 U.S.C. 1112(b)(2) that became manifest to a degree of ten percent or more after service was considered to have been incurred in or aggravated by service, notwithstanding that no record of the disease existed during service. That first group included psychosis, any of the anxiety states, dysthymic disorder, organic residuals of frostbite where the Secretary determined that detention occurred in climatic conditions consistent with frostbite, posttraumatic osteoarthritis, and osteoporosis where the Secretary determined that the veteran had posttraumatic stress disorder. A second group depended on duration of captivity. If the veteran was detained or interned for not less than thirty days, diseases specified in 38 U.S.C. 1112(b)(3) received the same treatment upon manifestation to a degree of ten percent or more after service. That group centered on deprivation and included avitaminosis, beriberi, chronic dysentery, helminthiasis, malnutrition, pellagra, any other nutritional deficiency, cirrhosis of the liver, peripheral neuropathy except where directly related to infectious causes, irritable bowel syndrome, and peptic ulcer disease. Implementation through 38 C.F.R. 3.307 and 38 C.F.R. 3.309(c) placed those diseases within the same rebuttable framework that governed chronic diseases. The claimant had to establish former prisoner of war status, the duration of detention when the thirty day tier was invoked, a listed disease, manifestation to the required degree, and a current disability, without producing records documenting the disease in captivity or an opinion tracing the disease to conditions of captivity.

Exposure Presumptions for Herbicide Agents, Radiation, and Gulf War Service

Exposure presumptions addressed a different evidentiary failure, one in which the service event itself was diffuse or incompletely recorded. Herbicide adjudication under 38 U.S.C. 1116 contained two linked presumptions. A veteran who served in the Republic of Vietnam during the period beginning on January 9, 1962, and ending on May 7, 1975, was presumed to have been exposed during such service to an herbicide agent, unless affirmative evidence established that the veteran was not exposed during that service. Regulation at 38 C.F.R. 3.307(a)(6) implemented the exposure presumption. The second presumption concerned disease. Under 38 C.F.R. 3.309(e), specified diseases associated with exposure to certain herbicide agents were service connected if the regulatory requirements were met, even though no record of the disease existed during service, provided that the rebuttable provisions of section 3.307 were satisfied. The list in section 3.309(e), as it stood under the law in force before the date of this article, included chloracne, type 2 diabetes mellitus, Hodgkin disease, multiple myeloma, non-Hodgkin lymphoma, acute and subacute peripheral neuropathy, porphyria cutanea tarda, prostate cancer, respiratory cancers, soft tissue sarcoma subject to stated exclusions, AL amyloidosis, ischemic heart disease, Parkinson disease, and chronic B cell leukemias. Section 1116 directed the Secretary to determine, on the basis of scientific review, whether a positive association existed between exposure and a disease, so presumptive status came through that process rather than through case by case litigation of general causation. Several listed diseases also carried specific manifestation terms in section 3.307(a)(6). A claimant had to establish qualifying service or actual exposure, a listed disease, any disease specific manifestation requirement, and a current disability. The claimant was relieved of proving individual exposure where the service based exposure presumption applied and was relieved of proving that herbicide exposure caused the listed disease in the individual case. A claimant with a disease outside the list retained the direct route, with its proof of actual exposure and a medical nexus.

Radiation presumption under 38 U.S.C. 1112(c) followed a comparable pattern. A disease specified in section 1112(c)(2) that became manifest in a radiation exposed veteran was considered to have been incurred in or aggravated during active service, notwithstanding that no record of the disease existed during service, subject to the rebuttal provisions of section 1113. The specified diseases consisted principally of cancers and included leukemia other than chronic lymphocytic leukemia, cancer of the thyroid, breast, pharynx, esophagus, stomach, small intestine, and pancreas, multiple myeloma, and lymphomas other than Hodgkin disease, with additional cancers named in the statutory list. The claimant had to establish status as a radiation exposed veteran through participation in a radiation risk activity as defined in the statute, a specified disease, and a current disability, without reconstructing a radiation dose or producing an opinion that radiation caused the specified cancer in the individual case.

Persian Gulf War provisions under 38 U.S.C. 1117 addressed chronic disability that resisted diagnosis altogether. The statute authorized the Secretary to pay compensation to a Persian Gulf veteran suffering from a chronic disability resulting from an undiagnosed illness, or a combination of undiagnosed illnesses, that became manifest during active service in the Southwest Asia theater of operations during the Persian Gulf War or within a period prescribed by regulation in a veteran who served in that theater. Regulation at 38 C.F.R. 3.317 implemented the provision and addressed objective indications of chronic disability and chronicity measured over six months or through intermittent episodes of improvement and worsening across such a period. The claimant had to establish qualifying Gulf War service, objective indications of a chronic disability, signs or symptoms not attributed to a known clinical diagnosis, timely manifestation, and a current chronic disability. The claimant was relieved of the obligation to name a diagnosed disease and connect that named disease to service, and the absence of a diagnosis became a defining predicate of the section 1117 route when the remaining conditions were met.

Secondary Service Connection

Secondary service connection relocated the causal inquiry from service itself to a disability already service connected. Regulation at 38 C.F.R. 3.310(a) provided that disability which was proximately due to or the result of a service connected disease or injury was service connected, and the secondary disability was then considered a part of the original condition for compensation purposes. A service connected knee disability that altered gait and produced a hip disorder illustrated the structure. The claimant had to establish a current secondary disability, an existing service connected disability, and a causal relationship between the two supported by competent evidence, ordinarily a medical opinion where the relationship required medical judgment. The claimant did not have to show that the secondary condition began during service or arose from an in service event independent of the service connected disability, because service connection for the primary condition performed the anchoring function that an in service event performed in a direct claim. The Court of Veterans Appeals expanded the reach of section 3.310 in Allen v. Brown, 7 Vet. App. 439 (1995), decided en banc. Allen held that secondary service connection encompassed aggravation as well as original causation. When aggravation of a nonservice connected condition was proximately due to or the result of a service connected condition, the veteran was compensated for the degree of disability over and above the degree of disability that existed prior to the aggravation. Under Allen, the adjudicator had to establish a baseline level of severity before aggravation and then identify the additional degree attributable to aggravation by the service connected disability, and compensation attached only to the additional degree. The claimant therefore had to prove current disability, a service connected primary disability, and aggravation proximately due to or resulting from the primary disability, and the evidence had to permit a baseline comparison. The claimant did not have to prove that the service connected disability caused the underlying secondary disease itself.

Aggravation of a Condition That Existed Before Service

Aggravation doctrine began with the presumption of soundness, because the classification of a condition as preexisting depended on whether the presumption survived. Under 38 U.S.C. 1111, every veteran was taken to have been in sound condition when examined, accepted, and enrolled for service, except as to defects, infirmities, or disorders noted at the time of examination, acceptance, and enrollment, or where clear and unmistakable evidence demonstrated that the injury or disease existed before acceptance and enrollment and was not aggravated by such service. Regulation at 38 C.F.R. 3.304(b) implemented the presumption and confined the category of noted conditions by providing that only such conditions as were recorded in examination reports were to be considered as noted. A condition mentioned in a history supplied by the entrant, without recording as a defect in the examination report, did not automatically qualify as noted under that definition. The rebuttal standard placed a heavy burden on the government. Clear and unmistakable evidence, described in the regulation as obvious or manifest evidence, had to demonstrate both elements embedded in the statute, namely that the disease or injury existed before acceptance and enrollment and that the disease or injury was not aggravated by service. Evidence that established prior existence without addressing aggravation did not rebut the presumption, and evidence that left aggravation in ordinary equipoise also fell short. If the presumption of soundness survived, the condition was treated as incurred in service and aggravation analysis had no separate role. If a condition was noted at entrance, or if the presumption was rebutted on both elements, the claim moved to the presumption of aggravation in 38 U.S.C. 1153. A preexisting injury or disease was considered to have been aggravated by active service where there was an increase in disability during such service, unless there was a specific finding that the increase was due to the natural progress of the disease. The claimant under section 1153 had to establish a condition that existed before service within the noted or rebutted categories, an increase in the underlying disability during service, and a current disability. Temporary or intermittent flare ups of symptoms, without worsening of the underlying condition, did not by themselves establish the required increase. Once an increase during service was shown, section 1153 supplied a presumption that service aggravated the condition, and the government could defeat that presumption only through a specific finding that the increase reflected natural progress. Regulation at 38 C.F.R. 3.306 required clear and unmistakable evidence to rebut the presumption of aggravation where the preservice disability underwent an increase in severity during service. The claimant was relieved of proving that service, rather than natural progress, caused an established increase, while retaining the burden of proving prior existence within the applicable category, increase, and present impairment.

Compensation for Disability Resulting From Department Treatment

Section 1151 of title 38 created a compensation route that did not depend on service incurrence at all. The provision directed that compensation and dependency and indemnity compensation be awarded for a qualifying additional disability or a qualifying death in the same manner as if the additional disability or death were service connected. The disability or death had to fall outside the category of injury resulting from the veteran own willful misconduct. For disability arising from hospital care, medical or surgical treatment, or examination furnished under a law administered by the Secretary, by a Department employee or in a Department facility, the disability or death had to be caused by that care and the proximate cause had to be carelessness, negligence, lack of proper skill, error in judgment, or a similar instance of fault on the part of the Department, or an event not reasonably foreseeable. The second branch meant that fault was not the sole path for the medical branch, although causation by Department care and the additional disability requirement remained indispensable. Section 1151 also reached disability or death proximately caused by training and rehabilitation services furnished by the Secretary as part of an approved rehabilitation program under chapter 31 of title 38, or by participation in a compensated work therapy program under 38 U.S.C. 1718. The claimant had to establish an additional disability, a causal relationship between the Department care, examination, rehabilitation service, or work therapy participation and that disability, and, for the medical branch, either Department fault or an event not reasonably foreseeable as the proximate cause. The claimant did not have to establish an in service event, a service connected primary disability, or a nexus to active service, because Congress substituted harm caused by the Department as care provider for harm incurred in the line of duty.

The Outer Boundary Drawn by Willful Misconduct and Abuse of Alcohol or Drugs

Every route described above operated inside the basic entitlement boundary of 38 U.S.C. 1110, which barred compensation where the disability was a result of the veteran own willful misconduct or abuse of alcohol or drugs. Section 105 of title 38 supplied the related line of duty framework and provided that an injury or disease incurred during active service was considered to have been incurred in the line of duty unless the injury or disease was a result of the person own willful misconduct or, for claims governed by the amendment applicable to claims filed after October 31, 1990, abuse of alcohol or drugs. Willful misconduct in the implementing regulation connoted deliberate or intentional wrongdoing with knowledge of, or wanton and reckless disregard for, the probable consequences. A presumption did not override the boundary, and section 1151 preserved a willful misconduct exclusion within its own text. A finding that the disabling injury resulted from willful misconduct or from abuse of alcohol or drugs within the meaning of sections 105 and 1110 removed the injury from line of duty and from compensation, regardless of the strength of the medical evidence on diagnosis or severity. Taken together, the routes formed a single system of allocated proof, in which presumptions supplied origin or exposure links for defined classes upon defined predicates, the soundness and aggravation rules allocated the risks of an uncertain pre service history, and section 1151 substituted Department caused harm for service caused harm.

The Elements and Routes Table

Element or route What the claimant must show What the route relieves the claimant of showing
Current disability A condition present at filing or during the claim that impairs earning capacity, shown by diagnosis or by pain with functional impairment Nothing; incurrence in service and a nexus link remain to be shown
In-service incurrence or aggravation An injury, disease, event, or symptom during qualifying service, or worsening of a condition noted at entrance Nothing; a present disability and a nexus link remain to be shown
The nexus link Competent evidence connecting the present disability to the in-service occurrence Nothing; the link completes the chain rather than replacing any other element
Direct service connection All three elements, through service records, personnel records, lay evidence, and medical opinion where causation requires medical judgment Nothing; the direct route relieves no element
Chronic disease presumption A listed chronic disease manifest to a compensable degree within the statutory period after separation, with qualifying service Proof of incurrence in service and an individualized nexus opinion for the listed disease
Former prisoner of war presumption Former prisoner of war status, a listed disease manifest to the required degree, and the required duration of captivity where a duration tier applies Records of the disease in captivity and an opinion tracing the disease to conditions of captivity
Exposure presumption Qualifying exposure service, a listed disease, and any disease specific manifestation requirement Proof of individual exposure where a service based exposure presumption applies, and proof of causation in the individual case
Secondary service connection A present secondary disability, an established service connected disability, and a causal relationship between the two Proof that the secondary condition began in service or arose from an independent in-service event
Aggravation of a pre-existing condition A condition noted at entrance or proved to have existed before service, an increase in the underlying disability during service, and a present disability Proof that service rather than natural progress caused an established increase, once that increase is shown
Disability from Department treatment An additional disability caused by Department care, examination, rehabilitation service, or work therapy, with fault or an event not reasonably foreseeable for the medical branch Proof of an in-service event, a service connected primary disability, or a nexus to active service

How Ratings Are Assigned and Combined

Once the Department of Veterans Affairs grants service connection, the rating agency assigns a percentage evaluation drawn from the schedule for rating disabilities in Part 4 of Title 38 of the Code of Federal Regulations. That percentage fixes the compensation level and, when several disabilities are service connected, feeds into a further calculation that produces a single combined rating. A rating specialist matches medical findings against criteria written in advance and applies a prescribed method for merging multiple evaluations. Individualized relief exists at the margins, through extraschedular evaluation and through total disability ratings based on individual unemployability, yet the ordinary case moves through the schedule itself.

The Statutory Basis in Average Impairment of Earning Capacity

Congress placed the authority for the schedule in section 1155 of Title 38 of the United States Code. The statute directs the Secretary of Veterans Affairs to adopt and apply a schedule of ratings of reductions in earning capacity from specific injuries or combinations of injuries. The ratings rest, as far as practicable, on the average impairments of earning capacity resulting from such injuries in civil occupations. The statute further requires the schedule to provide ten grades of disability and no more, running from 10 percent through 90 percent in steps of ten and ending at total disability, expressed as 100 percent. A separate provision for a noncompensable evaluation, expressed as 0 percent, covers a service connected disability that fails to reach the lowest compensable level described in the schedule. Section 4.1 of Part 4 repeats the governing idea, describing the percentage ratings as representing, as far as can practicably be determined, the average impairment in earning capacity resulting from diseases and injuries and their residual conditions in civil occupations.

The emphasis on an average carries real consequences. A schedular evaluation does not attempt to measure the earnings lost by a particular veteran in a particular occupation. Two veterans with identical medical findings receive the same schedular percentage even though one worked in heavy construction and the other worked at a desk, because the schedule prices the impairment for a hypothetical average worker across civil occupations generally. The statute also directs the Secretary to readjust the schedule from time to time in accordance with experience, and a readjustment may not reduce a rating in effect on the effective date of the readjustment unless an improvement in the disability has been shown.

Diagnostic Codes and the Structure of the Schedule

Part 4 organizes disabilities by body system, and within each system the schedule assigns a diagnostic code to each listed disease or injury. Each system carries a series of four digit codes, and under each code the schedule sets out a ladder of evaluations paired with clinical criteria. A given code might provide 0 percent, 10 percent, 20 percent, 30 percent, 50 percent, and 100 percent evaluations, or a different selection drawn from the ten percent increments, with each step defined by findings such as limitation of motion, laboratory values, or frequency of incapacitating episodes. The rating agency selects the evaluation whose criteria most closely describe the documented disability picture. Section 4.7 of Part 4 addresses the borderline case by providing that where a question arises as to which of two evaluations shall be applied, the higher evaluation will be assigned if the disability picture more nearly approximates the criteria required for that rating. Section 4.3 directs resolution of reasonable doubt regarding the degree of disability in favor of the claimant.

Not every disability appears in the schedule under a precise name, and section 4.20 of Part 4 supplies the method for an unlisted condition. When an unlisted condition is encountered, the condition may be rated under a closely related disease or injury in which not only the functions affected but also the anatomical localization and symptomatology are closely analogous. Rating by analogy allows the schedule to reach rare conditions and unusual residuals of injury without resort to free form percentage selection. Conjectural analogies are disfavored, and the regulation cautions that analogies should rest on genuine closeness of function, location, and symptoms. The result of the schedular inquiry, in the listed and the analogous case alike, is a single percentage for each disability, expressed in a multiple of ten.

Why do separate ratings fail to add together?

Separate ratings fail to add together because each rating measures loss against the whole person, and a second disability can impair only the efficiency left after the first disability has been taken into account. The combined ratings table therefore applies every later rating to the remaining efficiency rather than to the original whole.

Section 4.25 of Part 4 states the theory in terms of efficiency. Combined ratings result from consideration of the efficiency of the individual as affected first by the most disabling condition, then by the less disabling condition, then by other less disabling conditions in the order of severity. A person with a 60 percent disability is considered 40 percent efficient, and a further disability operates on that 40 percent rather than on an intact whole. Simple addition would double count the same person and could produce totals above 100 percent for an individual who retains some capacity for work. The combined ratings table, designated Table I in section 4.25, performs the arithmetic in advance, so that the rating agency reads a combined value from the intersection of a row and a column instead of computing percentages anew in each case.

The regulation itself supplies the classic illustration, built on a disability evaluated at 50 percent and a second disability evaluated at 30 percent. The greater disability is taken first, and a 50 percent disability leaves the individual 50 percent efficient. The 30 percent disability then applies to the remaining 50 percent of efficiency, and 30 percent of 50 equals 15, so the second disability adds 15 points of disability and produces a combined value of 65 percent, the figure that Table I gives for the pairing of 50 and 30. The result falls well short of the 80 percent that plain addition would suggest, and the difference between the two figures is the practical signature of the efficiency method.

The Rounding Rule and Multiple Disabilities

Section 4.25 prescribes a single conversion at the end of the process. The combined value is converted to the nearest number divisible by 10, and combined values ending in 5 are adjusted upward. In the illustration built on 50 percent and 30 percent, the combined value of 65 percent must be converted to 70 percent to represent the final degree of disability, because a value ending in 5 moves upward under the regulation. In the illustration built on 40 percent and 20 percent, the combined value of 52 percent converts to 50 percent, the nearest degree divisible by 10. The conversion happens once, after all disabilities have been combined, and intermediate combined values keep their exact figures while a third or fourth disability enters the calculation. For three disabilities, the regulation directs that the disabilities be arranged in the exact order of severity, that the combined value for the first two be found as for two disabilities, and that the resulting value then be combined with the degree of the third disability, with the same procedure repeated for four or more disabilities. A set of disabilities rated at 60 percent, 40 percent, and 20 percent illustrates the sequence, since the first two combine to 76 percent under Table I, the 76 percent figure combines with 20 percent to yield 81 percent, and the single final conversion turns 81 percent into a combined rating of 80 percent.

The Bilateral Factor

Section 4.26 of Part 4 adds a refinement for disabilities affecting paired structures. When a partial disability results from disease or injury of both arms, or of both legs, or of paired skeletal muscles, the ratings for the disabilities of the right and left sides are combined as usual under Table I, and 10 percent of that combined value is added, as a straight addition rather than a further combination, before any other combinations are carried out and before conversion to the final degree of disability. The augmented figure is then treated as one disability for purposes of arranging disabilities in order of severity and for all further combinations. The terms arms and legs refer to the upper and lower extremities as a whole rather than to segments of them, so a compensable disability of the right thigh and a compensable disability of the left foot qualify together despite arising at different points on the limbs. The factor has a threshold of its own, because section 4.26 provides that the bilateral factor is not applicable unless partial disability of compensable degree exists in each of two paired extremities or in paired skeletal muscles. A 0 percent evaluation on one side therefore contributes nothing to the factor, and a disability of one arm paired with a disability of one leg falls outside the rule entirely.

The Bar on Pyramiding

Combination assumes that each evaluation entering Table I measures a distinct impairment, and section 4.14 of Part 4 protects that assumption by forbidding pyramiding. The evaluation of the same disability under various diagnoses is to be avoided. The regulation explains that disability from injuries to the muscles, nerves, and joints of an extremity may overlap to a great extent, and that special rules within the appropriate body systems govern evaluation in such areas. Symptoms named in the regulation, including dyspnea, tachycardia, nervousness, and fatigability, may result from many causes, some service connected and others not. Two prohibitions follow from the text. Manifestations not resulting from service connected disease or injury may not be used in establishing the service connected evaluation, and the same manifestation may not be evaluated under different diagnoses. A single limitation of motion in a joint, for example, cannot support one evaluation under a code for limitation of motion and a second evaluation under a code for arthritis where both evaluations rest on the identical loss of movement, and pain compensated within one evaluation cannot be compensated a second time under another label.

The bar on pyramiding does not forbid separate evaluations for genuinely distinct impairments arising from the same disease or injury. Separate evaluations remain available where disabilities produce different manifestations that the schedule rates on different measures, subject always to the prohibition against counting any single manifestation twice. Adjudication under section 4.14 therefore turns on a comparison of symptoms rather than a comparison of diagnostic labels. Two diagnoses with wholly separate symptom sets may each receive an evaluation, while one diagnosis described under two names receives a single evaluation.

Extraschedular Evaluation When the Schedule Falls Short

The schedule prices average impairment, and some disability pictures depart so far from the average that the schedular criteria fail to capture the loss presented. Section 3.321(b)(1) of Title 38 supplies the corrective mechanism. The Under Secretary for Benefits or the Director of the Compensation and Pension Service is authorized to approve an extraschedular evaluation commensurate with the average earning capacity impairment due exclusively to the service connected disability or disabilities, where a case presents such an exceptional or unusual disability picture, with such related factors as marked interference with employment or frequent periods of hospitalization, as to render impractical the application of the regular schedular standards. The authority rests with those designated officials, and rating agencies and the Board of Veterans’ Appeals refer qualifying cases for consideration rather than assigning an extraschedular evaluation in the first instance, a division of authority confirmed in Bagwell v. Brown and Floyd v. Brown, both decided in 1996.

The Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims organized the inquiry in Thun v. Peake, decided in 2008. The first step compares the severity and symptomatology of the disability with the established criteria in the rating schedule. If the criteria reasonably describe the disability, the picture is contemplated by the schedule and referral is not required. If the schedular evaluation does not contemplate the disability shown, the second step asks whether the picture exhibits related factors of the kind the regulation names, such as marked interference with employment or frequent periods of hospitalization. Satisfaction of both steps leads to referral to the designated official for a determination of whether an extraschedular evaluation is warranted to accord justice. An extraschedular evaluation under section 3.321(b)(1) remains anchored to average earning capacity impairment, a feature that distinguishes the provision from the individualized unemployability inquiry under section 4.16. The provision also reaches the combined effect of multiple disabilities in an appropriate case, an application recognized by the Federal Circuit in Johnson v. McDonald, decided in 2014.

Total Disability Based on Individual Unemployability

A total rating may rest on the individual rather than on the schedule. Section 4.16 of Part 4 governs total disability ratings for compensation based on unemployability of the individual, commonly shortened to a total disability rating based on individual unemployability. The premise reverses the averaging that drives the schedular system. Instead of asking what an average worker would lose, the inquiry asks whether the particular disabled person is unable to secure or follow a substantially gainful occupation as a result of service connected disabilities. A grant pays compensation at the 100 percent rate even though the combined schedular rating remains below total.

Paragraph (a) of section 4.16 sets percentage thresholds that a case must meet before a total rating may be assigned on the schedular side of the provision. If there is only one service connected disability, that disability shall be ratable at 60 percent or more. If there are two or more disabilities, there shall be at least one disability ratable at 40 percent or more, and sufficient additional disability to bring the combined rating to 70 percent or more. For purposes of the single disability threshold and the single 40 percent disability in a combination, the regulation counts several groupings as one disability, including disabilities of one or both upper extremities or of one or both lower extremities, counting the bilateral factor where applicable, disabilities resulting from common etiology or a single accident, disabilities affecting a single body system, multiple injuries incurred in action, and multiple disabilities incurred as a prisoner of war. Meeting a threshold establishes eligibility for consideration and nothing more, because the rating agency must also judge that the service connected disabilities render the person unemployable. Adjudication may consider education, special training, and previous work experience while excluding age and impairment from nonservice connected causes, the latter exclusions appearing in sections 3.341 and 4.19 of Title 38.

The employment standard carries its own definitions within paragraph (a). Marginal employment shall not be considered substantially gainful employment. Marginal employment generally is deemed to exist when earned annual income does not exceed the amount established by the Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, as the poverty threshold for one person. Marginal employment may also be held to exist, on an individual basis, where employment occurs in a protected environment, such as a family business or a sheltered workshop. Work of either character therefore leaves eligibility intact.

Paragraph (b) of section 4.16 supplies an extraschedular route for cases that fail the percentage thresholds. The paragraph states the governing policy that all veterans who are unable to secure and follow a substantially gainful occupation by reason of service connected disabilities shall be rated totally disabled. Rating boards are directed to submit to the Director of Compensation Service, for extraschedular consideration, all cases of veterans who are unemployable by reason of service connected disabilities but who fail to meet the percentage standards set forth in paragraph (a). A rating board does not grant the benefit directly under paragraph (b), and the Board of Veterans’ Appeals likewise refers rather than assigns, a limitation enforced in Bowling v. Principi, decided in 2001. The Director considers the service connected disabilities together with employment history and educational and vocational attainment, and a grant under paragraph (b) produces the same total rating as a grant under paragraph (a).

Staged Ratings Across the Appeal Period

A single percentage assigned at the grant of service connection describes the disability as though severity held constant across the entire period under review, and staged ratings correct that fiction where the evidence shows change. In Fenderson v. West, decided in 1999 and reported at volume 12 of the Veterans Appeals reporter beginning at page 119, the Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims held that, at the time of an initial rating, separate ratings can be assigned for separate periods of time based on the facts found, a practice the decision identified as staged ratings. The evidence within the period from the effective date of the award forward may show a disability that worsened, improved, or fluctuated in ways that one evaluation cannot fairly represent. Staging divides the period at points where the facts change and assigns the evaluation matching the criteria for each segment, so a disability might carry a 30 percent evaluation for an early segment and a 50 percent evaluation for a later segment within the same appeal.

The staging inquiry belongs principally to initial rating appeals, where disagreement with the rating assigned together with the grant of service connection places the whole period in issue. A uniform rating across the period represents a finding that the disability held at one level throughout. Staging interacts with the combining rules in a straightforward way, because a change in one staged evaluation alters the combined rating for the affected segment and leaves the combined rating for other segments untouched. The schedule supplies the percentages, the table merges them, the bilateral factor adjusts paired impairments, section 4.14 prevents double counting, extraschedular evaluation and individual unemployability relieve cases that the averages fail, and staging assigns each percentage to the period in which the underlying facts support the assigned level.

Effective Dates, Payment, and the Distance Between Text and Experience

The final questions in a compensation claim concern time and money rather than diagnosis. A grant of service connection answers whether a disability belongs to service and at what level the Schedule for Rating Disabilities evaluates that disability. Separate provisions then decide the date from which the award runs, the month from which payment may be made, and the monthly amount attached to the combined evaluation and household composition for a given period. Section 5110 of title 38, United States Code, section 5111 of the same title, and the implementing regulations in Part 3 of title 38, Code of Federal Regulations, form the frame. Part 4 supplies the combined evaluation to which the monetary tables in sections 1114 and 1115 apply.

The Effective Date Under Section Five One One Zero

Section 5110(a) placed a floor under every award by providing that the effective date of an award of compensation, fixed in accordance with the facts found, could not be earlier than the date of receipt of the application for the benefit. Regulation at 38 C.F.R. 3.400 supplied the working formula. For an original claim, the effective date was the date of receipt of the claim or the date entitlement arose, whichever was later. The later of the two dates controlled because each date guarded a different requirement. A claim filed before entitlement could be established gave notice without entitlement, and entitlement arising before any claim reached the Department of Veterans Affairs produced no payable award for the period before filing.

One exception softened that rule for the transition out of service. Under section 5110(b)(1) and 38 C.F.R. 3.400(b)(2), where a claim arrived within one year after separation from active service, the effective date was the day following the date of discharge or release, provided entitlement had arisen by that point, rather than the later date on which the claim form itself arrived. Outside that one year window, the general rule returned in full, and a claim received years after separation took an effective date no earlier than its receipt, however old the underlying injury or disease might have been. Filing inside the window preserved a reach back to separation, and no showing of longstanding symptoms, standing alone, restored the months surrendered by filing outside the window.

A second preservation device operated at the point of filing itself. Regulation at 38 C.F.R. 3.155 governed how a claim was filed and recognized an intent to file. A claimant, or a representative acting for the claimant, could notify the department of an intent to file a claim for compensation by the methods the regulation prescribed, including a written intent on the prescribed form, an oral communication to designated department personnel in allowed circumstances, or the start of an electronic claim process that the department recorded. Where a complete claim on the proper form arrived within one year after the department received that notice, the department treated the claim as filed on the date of the earlier notice for effective date purposes. Where no complete claim arrived within that year, the notice expired without effect and a later claim took its own filing date.

The mechanism separated notice from proof. The notice required no medical evidence and no completed development, and its function was chronological rather than evidentiary, holding a place in the calendar while records were gathered and the formal claim was prepared. The regulation limited recognition to one intent to file at a time for the same general benefit, and a second notice filed while an earlier notice remained unconsumed by a complete claim had no effect. Each notice therefore bought a single year, and the value of the year depended entirely on completion within it.

The filing date mattered as much as the outcome for a practical reason rooted in arithmetic. Compensation, once granted, ran from the effective date, so every month between an earlier available filing date and a later actual filing date represented a month of compensation at the granted rate that the award either captured or lost permanently. A grant at a high combined evaluation magnified the loss, because the monthly rate multiplied across each surrendered month. No general mechanism paid months before the governing filing date outside the exceptions the statute and regulations themselves supplied. Effective date disputes therefore occupied a large place in appellate practice relative to the brevity of section 5110.

When Does Payment Begin After an Effective Date Is Set?

Payment begins on the first day of the calendar month following the month in which the award became effective. An effective date inside one month therefore produces a first payable month that starts with the next month, and compensation for the effective month itself is not paid separately at all.

Section 5111(a) of title 38 imposed that rule notwithstanding section 5110 or any other provision of law, subject to stated exceptions that did not alter the general compensation pattern. Payment based on an award or an increased award could not be made for any period before the first day of the calendar month following the month in which the award became effective under section 5110. Regulation at 38 C.F.R. 3.31 restated the rule and applied it regardless of department regulations concerning effective dates. An award effective on the second day of a month and an award effective on the final day of the same month therefore shared the same payment commencement, the first day of the month that followed. The interval between the effective date and the start of payment was not treated as a partial month to be prorated. The system paid by whole months, and the effective month itself fell outside payment even though the award, for other legal purposes, was deemed in force from the effective date.

The two step structure explained a recurring source of confusion in award letters. The effective date answered a legal question about the reach of the grant, and the payment date answered a separate fiscal question about the first month for which money could be paid, so a gap of days or weeks between the two dates indicated no error by itself. Retroactive payment was calculated across the payable months from that commencement point forward, at the rates in force for each period covered.

Amounts Stated Only With the Period That Produced Them

Compensation amounts had meaning only inside the rate period that produced them, because Congress adjusted the statutory rates through periodic cost of living legislation and the department published a fresh table for each period. The rates effective December 1, 2018 illustrate the structure without standing in for any other period. Those rates followed the Veterans Compensation Cost of Living Adjustment Act of 2018, Public Law 115-258, under which the rates in sections 1114 and 1115 rose by the same percentage as Social Security benefits for the corresponding period. The Social Security Administration announced a 2.8 percent cost of living increase for 2019, the department applied that same 2.8 percent percentage to compensation, and the adjusted rates appeared in a Federal Register notice dated March 2019. Under the table effective December 1, 2018, a veteran alone with a combined evaluation of 10 percent received 140.05 dollars monthly, a veteran alone at 30 percent received 428.83 dollars monthly, and a veteran alone at 100 percent received 3,057.13 dollars monthly. Each figure belonged to the period beginning December 1, 2018.

Additional amounts for dependents entered only at the 30 percent level and above, under section 1115. A veteran evaluated at 10 percent or 20 percent received the basic rate without a dependent addition, whatever the household composition. At 30 percent and above, the table supplied higher amounts for a veteran with a spouse, with a spouse and a child, with a child alone, and with dependent parents, together with added amounts for each additional child, for a schoolchild beyond the age threshold stated in the table, and for a spouse receiving aid and attendance. From the same December 1, 2018 table, a veteran at 30 percent with a spouse and no children received 479.83 dollars monthly against 428.83 dollars for a veteran alone at the same evaluation, and a veteran at 100 percent with a spouse and a child received 3,352.41 dollars monthly against 3,057.13 dollars for a veteran alone. Dollar movement between adjacent evaluations varied across the scale, reflecting amounts placed in section 1114 over successive enactments rather than any formula multiplying a base rate by the percentage of disability.

The Counter Reading in Delays, Denials, and Backlogs

Against that claimant favorable text stood a documented record of delay that no honest account of the provisions could omit. The legal standard and the administrative experience pointed in different directions, and the explanation for the divergence sat in development and processing capacity rather than in the wording of the entitlement rules. In testimony issued as GAO-18-349T in 2018, the Government Accountability Office reported that the department paid an estimated 67 billion dollars to about 4.3 million veterans in fiscal year 2016. The same testimony reported that, for appeals resolved in fiscal year 2017, veterans waited an average of three years from initiation of an appeal to resolution by the Veterans Benefits Administration or the Board of Veterans Appeals, and a cumulative average of seven years for appeals resolved by the Board. Those figures described appeals rather than initial claims. An initial denial opened a second, longer proceeding in which the same evidentiary questions returned for fresh development and decision.

The claims backlog supplied the companion measure for initial processing. The department defined the backlog as claims pending more than 125 days. By that definition, the backlog peaked at more than 611,000 claims in March 2013, according to a department announcement of April 1, 2014, and the same announcement reported a reduction of about 44 percent to about 344,000 claims across the year that followed the peak. The department attributed part of the height of the March 2013 figure to readjudication, mandated under the Nehmer litigation, of about 150,000 previously decided cases involving exposure to Agent Orange, together with more than 100,000 new claims for conditions added to the herbicide presumption list in 2010. Entitlement widened by law while throughput widened only as fast as hiring, training, records scanning, and transfer of service treatment records allowed.

A denial letter stated a legal conclusion, that service connection had not been established on the record assembled, but the record assembled often reflected the limits of development as much as the merits of the underlying disability. Missing service treatment records, an examination that addressed diagnosis without addressing the nexus question, or a private treatment history that never reached the claims file could each produce a record on which denial followed under ordinary evidentiary reasoning, even under a standard that resolved genuine equipoise for the claimant. The benefit of the doubt rule in section 5107(b) operated on evidence in approximate balance. Appellate remands for further development, a staple of Board practice across the period covered by the Government Accountability Office reporting cited above, returned claims for examinations, records searches, and medical opinions that the initial process had not produced, and each remand added months or years while correcting an omission that capacity, rather than doctrine, had created. The documented divergence was temporal and procedural. A pro claimant standard administered through an overloaded development pipeline produced waits measured in years and decisions that appellate bodies repeatedly returned for completion, and that combination, rather than any hostility written into sections 1110 or 5107, explained the distance between text and experience. The Veterans Appeals Improvement and Modernization Act of 2017, Public Law 115-55, which restructured appellate options with implementation in February 2019, addressed the appeals side of that pipeline and left the entitlement, effective date, and payment rules described in this section untouched.

Provisions Most Often Misread

The first frequent misreading treated separate ratings as numbers to be added. Regulation at 38 C.F.R. 4.25 required the opposite operation. Separate evaluations were combined through the Combined Ratings Table on a remaining efficiency basis, beginning with the highest evaluation and applying each succeeding evaluation to the portion of the person left unaffected by the evaluations already combined. A 50 percent evaluation and a 30 percent evaluation combined to 65 percent, which then converted to a 70 percent combined evaluation under the rounding rule in the same regulation. The regulation measured successive impairments against a shrinking remainder, so each additional disability contributed fewer combined points than face value suggested, and conversion to the nearest multiple of ten occurred once, after all evaluations had been combined.

The second frequent misreading assigned the claimant an ordinary burden of proof on the model of civil litigation between private parties. The statutory scheme distributed responsibility differently. Section 5107(a) placed responsibility on the claimant to present and support a claim, and a claim unsupported by any competent evidence of a current disability, an in service event or symptom, and a link between the two could fail at the threshold. Beyond presentation, however, the department bore a statutory duty to assist under section 5103A, which required reasonable efforts to obtain relevant records, notice where records could not be obtained, and a medical examination or opinion where the statutory conditions for examination were met. Section 5107(b) then resolved an approximate balance of positive and negative evidence on a material issue in favor of the claimant, a rule restated for adjudicators in 38 C.F.R. 3.102 and echoed for degree of disability in 38 C.F.R. 4.3. Equipoise therefore ended in a grant on the issue in balance rather than in a denial for failure to persuade.

The third frequent misreading treated a presumption as a removal of every element of a claim. Presumptive service connection under sections 1112 and 1116 and regulations at 38 C.F.R. 3.307 and 3.309 relieved a claimant of proof of one element, typically the occurrence of the disease in service or the link between a stated exposure and a listed disease, where the conditions of the presumption were satisfied. The remaining elements survived intact. A claimant relying on a presumption also required a current disability capable of evaluation, qualifying service that fell inside the service, location, and period conditions written into the particular presumption, and satisfaction of any manifestation or chronicity requirement the governing regulation attached to the listed condition. The presumption also decided nothing about the percentage of evaluation. A granted presumptive claim proceeded to Part 4 for rating on evidence of functional impairment, where the evaluation could fall anywhere the diagnostic criteria allowed, including a noncompensable level.

A Closing Map of the Text

The provisions of this article form a single sequence when read in the order in which an adjudicator met them. Chapter 11 of title 38 opened with the basic entitlement grants, section 1110 for wartime service and section 1131 for peacetime service, each requiring a disability resulting from disease or injury incurred or aggravated in line of duty. Presumption provisions followed, including section 1112 for chronic and other stated diseases and section 1116 for disabilities associated with herbicide exposure, flanked by the aggravation rule in section 1153 and the evidentiary provisions of section 1154. The monetary core of the chapter sat in section 1114, which set the monthly rates by percentage of evaluation and supplied special monthly compensation, and section 1115, which added amounts for dependents at the 30 percent level and above. Section 1155 authorized the rating schedule itself, the instrument codified as Part 4 of title 38, Code of Federal Regulations. Part 3 supplied the adjudication rules that connected chapter 11 to a living claim, including reasonable doubt in 38 C.F.R. 3.102, the principles of service connection in 38 C.F.R. 3.303, presumptive service connection in 38 C.F.R. 3.307 and 3.309, the filing rule in 38 C.F.R. 3.155, the effective date rules in 38 C.F.R. 3.400, and the commencement of payment rule in 38 C.F.R. 3.31. Part 4 then governed evaluation, through the avoidance of pyramiding in 38 C.F.R. 4.14, the higher of two evaluations in 38 C.F.R. 4.7, the combined ratings table in 38 C.F.R. 4.25, and the body system schedules and diagnostic codes that assigned a percentage to a particular impairment. Chapter 51 of title 38 framed the whole sequence with the claim requirement in section 5101, the duty to assist in section 5103A, the benefit of the doubt in section 5107, and the effective date and payment pair in sections 5110 and 5111. The longer history behind that sequence, from entitlement through presumption, filing, effective date, payment, and evaluation, appears in the statutory sequence of veterans legislation across successive enactments, which placed each of those provisions in the enactment order that produced the modern chapter.

Readers retaining the sequence in this article for later study can keep your statute notes, citations, and case chronologies together free on VaultBook, and readers testing command of the surrounding governmental structure can practice and revise US government and civics material on ReportMedic.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What are the three elements of a VA disability claim?

A claim for service connection rests on three elements stated in the practice under sections 1110 and 1131 of title 38. The first element is a present disability, meaning a condition existing at filing or during the pendency of the claim that impairs earning capacity. The second element is incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury during service, shown through service treatment records, personnel records, or competent lay evidence. The third element is a nexus, a causal link between the present disability and the in-service occurrence. A medical opinion commonly supplies that link where causation requires medical judgment, and continuity of symptomatology can supply the link for listed chronic diseases under section 3.303(b) of title 38 of the Code of Federal Regulations.

Q: What is the benefit of the doubt rule in VA disability law?

Section 5107(b) of title 38 directs the Secretary to give the benefit of the doubt to the claimant where, after consideration of all evidence of record, positive and negative evidence stands in approximate balance on an issue material to the determination. The rule in Gilbert v. Derwinski required denial only where the preponderance of the evidence was against the claim. The rule does not create evidence where the record holds none, does not compel acceptance of incredible or incompetent evidence, and does not displace a finding that the evidence against a claim outweighs the evidence supporting the claim. The rule operates issue by issue after credibility and probative weight have been weighed.

Q: What is the duty to assist in VA disability claims?

Section 5103A of title 38, codified in the form given by the Veterans Claims Assistance Act of 2000, requires the Secretary to make reasonable efforts to assist a claimant in obtaining evidence necessary to substantiate a claim. The duty covers notice of the evidence required, efforts to obtain service records and other federal records, reasonable efforts to obtain adequately identified private records, and a medical examination or opinion where the statutory conditions for examination are met. The duty has a limit in the statute, because assistance is not required where no reasonable possibility exists that assistance would aid in substantiating the claim. Failure to perform the duty can require further development before decision.

Q: How are VA disability ratings combined?

Section 4.25 of title 38 of the Code of Federal Regulations combines separate evaluations through the Combined Ratings Table rather than through addition. Each evaluation measures loss against the whole person, so a later disability applies only to the efficiency remaining after the more disabling condition. A disability evaluated at 50 percent leaves 50 percent efficiency, and a second disability evaluated at 30 percent applies to that remainder and adds 15 points, producing a combined value of 65 percent. The combined value is converted once, at the end, to the nearest number divisible by ten, with values ending in five adjusted upward, so 65 percent becomes a combined rating of 70 percent.

Q: What is secondary service connection in VA disability law?

Secondary service connection attaches where a disability is proximately due to or the result of a service connected disease or injury, under section 3.310(a) of title 38 of the Code of Federal Regulations. The secondary condition is then treated as part of the original condition for compensation purposes. Proof requires a present secondary disability, an established service connected disability, and a causal relationship between the two, ordinarily shown through competent medical evidence where medical judgment is required. Allen v. Brown extended the doctrine to aggravation, so compensation covers the degree of disability over and above the baseline degree that existed before a service connected condition aggravated a nonservice connected condition.

Q: What is TDIU in VA disability law?

Total disability based on individual unemployability, governed by section 4.16 of title 38 of the Code of Federal Regulations, pays compensation at the total rate where service connected disabilities render a veteran unable to secure or follow a substantially gainful occupation, even though the combined schedular rating falls below 100 percent. Paragraph (a) of that section sets percentage thresholds: a single disability ratable at 60 percent or more, or at least one disability ratable at 40 percent or more with a combined rating of 70 percent or more. Paragraph (b) of that section provides an extraschedular route, through referral to the Director of Compensation Service, for a veteran who is unemployable by reason of service connected disabilities but fails those thresholds.

Q: What is the presumption of soundness in VA disability law?

Section 1111 of title 38 presumes that every veteran was in sound condition when examined, accepted, and enrolled for service, except as to defects, infirmities, or disorders noted at that time. Section 3.304(b) of the regulations confines noted conditions to conditions recorded in examination reports. The government can rebut the presumption only through clear and unmistakable evidence demonstrating both that the injury or disease existed before acceptance and enrollment and that the injury or disease was not aggravated by service. Evidence proving prior existence alone leaves the presumption intact, and a condition protected by the presumption is treated as incurred in service rather than as a condition that existed before service.

Q: When do VA disability benefits start being paid?

Section 5111(a) of title 38 provides that payment based on an award or an increased award cannot be made for any period before the first day of the calendar month following the month in which the award became effective under section 5110. Section 3.31 of the regulations restates that rule. An award effective on any day within a given month therefore produces a first payable month beginning on the first day of the next month, and the effective month itself is not paid separately or prorated. Retroactive payment is then calculated across the payable months from that commencement point forward, at the rates in force for each period covered.

Q: How do herbicide exposure presumptions work in VA disability law?

Section 1116 of title 38 contains two linked presumptions. A veteran who served in the Republic of Vietnam during the period beginning on January 9, 1962, and ending on May 7, 1975, is presumed to have been exposed during such service to an herbicide agent, unless affirmative evidence establishes that the veteran was not exposed. Section 3.309(e) of the regulations then treats specified diseases associated with exposure to certain herbicide agents as service connected where the regulatory requirements are met, even though no record of the disease existed during service. A claimant under that route establishes qualifying service, a listed disease, any disease specific manifestation requirement, and a present disability, without proving individual exposure or individual causation.

Q: What is an intent to file in VA disability claims?

Section 3.155 of title 38 of the Code of Federal Regulations recognizes an intent to file as a notice that preserves an earlier filing date for effective date purposes. A claimant or a representative can give that notice through the methods the regulation prescribes, including a written intent on the prescribed form or the start of an electronic claim process recorded by the Department. Where a complete claim on the proper form arrives within one year after the Department receives the notice, the claim is treated as filed on the date of the earlier notice. Where no complete claim arrives within that year, the notice expires without effect. The notice itself requires no medical evidence, because the function of the notice is chronological rather than evidentiary.

Q: Can compensation be paid for disability caused by Department treatment?

Section 1151 of title 38 directs compensation for a qualifying additional disability in the same manner as if the additional disability were service connected, without any requirement of an in-service event. For disability arising from hospital care, medical or surgical treatment, or examination furnished by the Department, the disability must have been caused by that care, and the proximate cause must have been carelessness, negligence, lack of proper skill, error in judgment, or a similar instance of fault on the part of the Department, or an event not reasonably foreseeable. Section 1151 also reaches disability proximately caused by specified rehabilitation services and by participation in a compensated work therapy program. Disability resulting from the veteran’s own willful misconduct falls outside the provision.

Q: What is an extraschedular evaluation in VA disability law?

Section 3.321(b)(1) of title 38 of the Code of Federal Regulations authorizes an extraschedular evaluation where a case presents an exceptional or unusual disability picture, with related factors such as marked interference with employment or frequent periods of hospitalization, that renders impractical the application of the regular schedular standards. The evaluation approved under that provision is commensurate with the average earning capacity impairment due exclusively to the service connected disability or disabilities. Authority rests with the Under Secretary for Benefits or the Director of the Compensation and Pension Service, and rating agencies and the Board refer qualifying cases rather than assigning the evaluation in the first instance. Thun v. Peake organized the inquiry into comparison with the schedular criteria and examination of the related factors named in the regulation.

Q: What does clear and unmistakable evidence mean in VA disability law?

Clear and unmistakable evidence is the demanding standard the government must meet on the questions where the statute and regulations impose that standard, including rebuttal of the presumption of soundness under section 1111 of title 38 and rebuttal of the presumption of aggravation under section 3.306 of the regulations. The regulation describes the standard as obvious or manifest evidence. Rebuttal of the presumption of soundness requires clear and unmistakable evidence on both elements, prior existence and absence of aggravation, and evidence that leaves aggravation in ordinary equipoise falls short of that standard. The standard is therefore far heavier than the approximate balance that governs the benefit of the doubt rule, under which an evenly balanced record resolves for the claimant.

Q: What is the compensation and pension examination in VA disability claims?

A compensation and pension examination is the medical examination the Department provides, or the medical opinion the Department obtains, under section 5103A(d) of title 38 where an examination or opinion is necessary to make a decision on a claim. The statutory conditions combine competent evidence of a current disability or of persistent or recurrent symptoms, an established event, injury, or disease during service or another service connected disability, an indication that the claimed disability or symptoms may be associated with that established event or disability, and an absence of sufficient competent medical evidence to decide the claim. McLendon v. Nicholson treated the association indication as a low threshold. An examiner commonly addresses diagnosis, severity under the rating criteria, and whether a connection to service is at least as likely as not.

Q: What is the bilateral factor in VA disability ratings?

Section 4.26 of title 38 of the Code of Federal Regulations adds a bilateral factor where partial disability results from disease or injury of both arms, both legs, or paired skeletal muscles. The evaluations for the right and left sides are first combined under the Combined Ratings Table, and ten percent of that combined value is then added as a straight addition, before any other combinations are carried out and before conversion to the final degree of disability. The augmented figure is treated as one disability for later combinations. The factor applies only where partial disability of compensable degree exists in each of two paired extremities or in paired skeletal muscles, so a noncompensable evaluation on one side contributes nothing to the factor.

Q: How are lay statements treated as evidence in VA disability claims?

Lay evidence can establish facts a witness is competent to observe, including the occurrence of an injury, the onset of observable symptoms, and the continuation of symptoms over time. Buchanan v. Nicholson held that competent lay evidence can support a claim even without contemporaneous medical documentation, and that absence of such documentation cannot by itself render lay evidence not credible, although adjudicators may weigh inconsistency, bias, and facial plausibility. Jandreau v. Nicholson held that lay evidence can be competent to establish a diagnosis in defined circumstances, including identification of a condition a layperson is competent to identify and description of symptoms that support a later diagnosis by a medical professional. Complex internal disease processes ordinarily require medical evidence on diagnosis and causation.

Q: Does VA disability compensation depend on income?

Compensation under chapter 11 of title 38 does not depend on financial need or on income. The entitlement sections, sections 1110 and 1131, condition payment on a disability resulting from injury or disease incurred or aggravated in line of duty, and the rating schedule measures reduction in earning capacity through percentages drawn from Part 4 of the regulations. Earnings and household income do not set the schedular percentage, and a veteran with substantial income and a veteran without income receive the same rate for the same combined evaluation and household composition under the tables in sections 1114 and 1115. Individual unemployability under section 4.16 asks a different question, whether service connected disabilities prevent substantially gainful occupation, and marginal employment is not treated as substantially gainful employment under that provision.

Q: How does disability compensation differ from disability pension?

Compensation and pension rest on different statutory foundations. Compensation under chapter 11 of title 38 pays for a disability service connected through incurrence or aggravation in line of duty, and the amount follows the percentage evaluation assigned under the rating schedule, without any test of financial need. Pension, by contrast, is a needs based benefit for wartime veterans who meet the statutory conditions on service, age or permanent and total disability, and countable income and net worth limits stated in chapter 15 of title 38. A disability supporting pension need not be service connected, and a service connected disability supporting compensation need not satisfy any income condition. The two programs therefore answer different questions, one about causation by service and one about need combined with qualifying wartime service.

Q: What does Part Four of title 38 of the Code of Federal Regulations contain?

Part 4 contains the Schedule for Rating Disabilities adopted under section 1155 of title 38. A subpart of general policy provisions, sections 4.1 to 4.31, states the interpretive rules for the schedule, including resolution of reasonable doubt, the higher of two evaluations where the disability picture more nearly approximates the higher criteria, rating by analogy for unlisted conditions, the bar on pyramiding, the combined ratings table, and the bilateral factor. A second subpart, sections 4.40 to 4.150, sets out body system criteria that assign each condition a diagnostic code and graduated criteria for each percentage level. Appendices index the disabilities covered. Part 4 decides the degree to which a service connected disability is disabling, while Part 3 decides whether a disability is service connected.

Q: How does aggravation of a pre-existing condition support a VA disability claim?

A condition that existed before service and was noted at entrance, or that was proved to have existed before service after the presumption of soundness was rebutted, can support compensation through aggravation under section 1153 of title 38. A preexisting injury or disease is considered to have been aggravated by active service where an increase in disability occurred during service, unless a specific finding establishes that the increase was due to the natural progress of the disease. Temporary or intermittent flare ups of symptoms, without worsening of the underlying condition, do not by themselves establish the required increase. Section 3.306 of the regulations requires clear and unmistakable evidence to rebut the presumption of aggravation where a preservice disability underwent an increase in severity during service. Compensation then attaches to the aggravated degree established on that record.